VIDYA BHAWAN BALIKA VIDYAPEETH SHAKTI UTHANA ASHRAM LAKHISARAI Date 5.X.2020.

Class 6th Subject Geography

Ch:Major Domains of the Earth

Read the following question and answer throughly and try to understand and Write down in your H.W.Copy.

Extra Questions Long Answer Type

Question 1.

Explain the layers of the Atmosphere.

Answer:

The atmosphere extends upto a height of about 1,600 kilometres.

The atmosphere is divided into five layers based on composition, temperature and other properties.

They are in ascending order from the earth's surface:

Troposphere

Stratosphere

Mesosphere

Thermosphere, and

Exosphere

The ozone layer crucial to life on the earth is located in the stratosphere.

Question 2.

Discuss the organisms found in the Biosphere.

Answer:

The organisms found in the biosphere are broadly divided into plant kingdom and animal kingdom. The four realms of the earth interact with one another and affect one another in some way or the other.

The growth of human population is a major cause of change in the biosphere. The growing population requires space for living. This leads to increase of silt in rivers that results ultimately into floods.

Floods provide new soil or alluvial (sand and earth).

But simultaneously floods destroy human habitation and cause complete disruption in smooth living of people.

Question 3.

What are the two main divisions of the earth's surface?

Answer:

Divisions of the Earth's Surface:

The two main divisions of the earth's surface are:

The large landmasses are known as the continents.

The ocean basins, contain large water bodies.

Continents and Oceans differ from each other in their relative levels.

All the Oceans of the world are connected with one another.

Level of seawater remains the same everywhere. It is called sea level. The continents have an average depth of 3800 metres in Oceans.

The highest point on Continents is 8848 metres in the form of Mount Everest in Nepal while the deepest depth is 11022 metres in the form of Mariana Deep (Mariana Trench) in the Pacific Ocean.

Question 4.

Which are the Seven Continents of the world? Give a brief description of each of them.

Answer:

There are seven major continents, namely:

Asia, Europe, Africa, North America, South America, Australia and Antarctica.

1. Asia

Asia is the largest continent.

It covers about 1/3 of the total land area of the earth.

Asia lies in the eastern hemisphere.

Alt is separated from Europe by Ural mountain on the west'

The combined landmass of Asia and Europe is called Eurasia.

2. Europe

Europe is the second smallest continent.

Water bodies bound it on three sides.

The Atlantic Ocean lies on the western side, the Arctic Ocean on the Northern side and the Mediterranean sea on the southern side.

3. Africa

Africa is the second largest continent after Asia. Equator runs almost through the middle of this continent.

The wider part of Africa lies in the Northern hemisphere.

It is the only continent which both the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn pass through.

The continent is bounded on all sides by oceans and seas.

The largest hot desert of the world, the Sahara desert is situated in Africa.

The world's longest river, Nile, flows through Africa.

4. North America

North America is the third largest continent of the world.

It is linked with South America by the Panama Isthmus.

It lies completely in the Northern and Western Hemisphere.

Three oceans surround it. They are the Pacific Ocean in the West, The Atlantic Ocean in the East and the Arctic Ocean in the North.

5. South America

South America lies mostly in the Southern Hemisphere.

It is bounded by the Pacific Ocean in the west, by Atlantic Ocean in the East and by Antarctic Ocean in the South.

The world's longest mountain range, the Andes runs through its full length.

World's largest river, Amazon flows through this continent.

6. Australia

Australia is the smallest continent of the world.

It lies entirely in the Southern hemisphere.

It is surrounded on all sides by oceans and seas so it is called an island continent.

7. Antarctica

Antarctica is completely in the Southern Hemisphere.

It is a continent larger than Europe and Australia put together.

The South Pole lies almost at the centre of this continent. Hence the continent is permanently covered with thick ice'sheets.

It has no permanent human settlements.

SUBJECT TEACHER MUKESH KUMAR